Physical geography


Foshan, located at south-central Guangdong --the Pearl River Delta hinterland, is an ancient and young city. Owing to itssuperior geographic location, Foshan is to the west of Guangzhou, adjoins Zhaoqing,Zhuhai and Qingyuan, respectively, and is close to Hong Kong and Macao. Thereare Xi River, Bei River and their tributaries running through it. The terrainof Foshan slopes gently, most of them are alluvial plains, which is criss-crossedby rivers and canals and densely covered with fishponds and rich soil. Thenatural resources are mainly composed of pottery clay, rock, glass sand, raremetal, pond fish, paddy rice, sugarcane as well as a variety of fruits andflowers, etc.


    Foshan governs five county-level districts, whichare Chancheng, Nanhai, Shunde, Gaoming and Sanshui, with a total area of3,848.49 sq. km. In 2013, its permanent population has reached to 7.2957million.


禅城区祖庙

    Foshan, with a long history and numerous scenicspots and historical sites, is a famous national historical and cultural city.The historic sites in Foshan comprise Foshan Ancestral Temple, known as a grandview garden of architecture and sculpture arts, Liangyuan, which is one of thefour famous gardens in Guangdong, etc. In addition, the autumn tints in Foshanand handcrafts are also full of south China features. There are many localspecialties in Foshan too, such as Manggong Cake, Liantang Kudzu and HeyanWhite Gourd, etc.


    ?The weather is mild and the rainfall is abundantin Foshan due to the  subtropical monsoonhumid climate. The annual average temperature is 22.5°C. The coldest month is January, with an average temperatureof 13.9°C, while the hottest month is July, with anaverage temperature of 29.2°C. The annualrainfall is 1,681.2 mm, and 1688.7 mm in Sanshui district, 1677.4 mm in Nanhaidistrict, 1677.6 in Shunde district separately. Foshan has 146.5 average annualrainfall days, while more in the west and north of Foshan because of theorographic lifting effect. The rainy season is from April to September, with80% of the total annual rainfall. The distribution of precipitation is uneven insummer, which always result in the droughts and floods. The rainfall decreaseobviously in autumn and winter. The annual total sunshine duration is about1,630 hours, which results in a long crop growing season.
    Because of the low latitude of Foshan and theinfluences of both the marine and terrestrial weather systems, the alternationbetween winter and summer monsoons is a prominent feature of Foshan’s monsoon climate, which means that the northerly windprevails in winter and spring while southerly wind in summer. The northerlywind in winter is dry and cold owing to the southward stretching of polarcontinental air mass, while the southerly wind in summer is warm and humid as aresult of the northward expansion of tropical marine air mass.
?

Winter

    The northeasterly wind and north wind prevail inwinter of Foshan, but the cole and dry air mass is not that cold because oflong distance travel from the source region. Meanwhile, the original cold anddry air mass gradually became cold and humid with the increasing surface airtemperature, the air pressure decreased when it reached Guangdong, so the windspeed gradually decreases from north to south as well. In the arms of winter,we have a feeling of neither entirely bitter coldness, nor complete depressionand sorrow. However, there are some exceptions. Frosty weather may appear asthe cold wave creeps in.. Winter is the dry season of Foshan, with lessprecipitation and adequate sunshine. January is the coldest month, with a meanmonthly temperature of 13.9°C. And theextremely minimum temperature reached to -1.9°C in Jan. 17, 1967.



Spring

顺德区陈村花卉世界

    The temperature and precipitation both increase inspring. The weather is instability because of the alternative cold and warmweather. The spring of Foshan is always overcast and rainy with chilly windsfrom the statistic of previous years. “Continuousspring rain wets kapoks.” The rainin this season is “joyful yet worrying”. Although it can moisturize the creations and cleans theair, it covers the sunshine as well. Therefore, sunshine duration is the least inthis season, so It's chilly sometimes because of the absence of the sunshineand the small diurnal variation of air temperature. Certainly, the beautifulspring scenes may also appear in some years. Besides, persistent droughts mayarise due to the delayed rainy season in some years. Generally, the rainyseason starts from April, and the pre-rainy season begins.


   



Summer

    Southerly wind prevails in summer affected by themarine air mass which  brings plentifulmoisture within the air to Foshan, providing favorable conditions for summerrainfall. May and June are the peak rainfall period of Foshan’s pre-rainy season, with a high possibility of torrentialrainfall. Meanwhile, the period affected by the tropical cyclones is mainlyfrom June to October. According to the statistics, there are around 5 to 6tropical cyclones influence Guangdong each year, and 3 to 4 landing inGuangdong, which is 40% of the number of tropical cyclones landing in China.Therefore, summer is a season with severe thunderstorms and tropical cyclones. Thetotal rainfall in this season is 50% of the annual year's rainfall, which is accompaniedwith strong wind, and often causes severe disasters. However, people are alwayslooking forward to the rainfall. The summer lasts long, with high temperature.July is the hottest month, with the monthly mean temperature of 29.2°C. The extremely maximum temperature once reached up to 39.2°C (July 18, 2005, Nanhai District). With the addition of the highrelative humidity, the summer heat appears to be more oppressive. Therefore, therainfall, with cool breezes, is the best gift of the nature when people arelooking forward to it, which   takes awaythe hotness and moisturize numerous people's hearts.


Autumn

禅城区中山公园


    Waving good-byes to the hot summer, we step into thecool autumn.The sky is high; the clouds are pale. Autumn is the mostcomfortable season in Foshan. The cold air mass starts to move southward frequently,and the air temperature drops gradually, the cool wind cleanse all depressionsand refreshes everyone.



    Autumn is not a season with active tropicalcyclones. But a tropical cyclone is still possible to appear. Averagely, there maybe a tropical cyclone landing in Guangdong every 10 years, with strong wind andtorrential rain. In general, autumn is dominated by fine days with lessprecipitation. According to statistics, from the late September to the end ofNovember, the average rainfall is 155.1mm only, accounting for about 9% of theannual rainfall. There appeared 30 consecutive rainless days more than once inhistory. The autumn dryness is broadly apparent.


   

Air temperature


    The annual average temperature in Foshan isbetween 22.2°C to 22.7°C from the north to the south with a difference of only 0.5°C. In 2007, the annual average temperature reached the highest,with a temperature of 23.8°C.

Winter is the coldest season of the year. Fromthe north to the south, the annual average temperature ranges from 14.4°C to 15.2°C. Inspring, the temperature rises up to 18.0°C. As summer comes, the weather becomes hot, with the annualtemperature of 28.8°C, and there is almost no difference about thetemperature between the north and the south regions. The annual temperature dropsback to 24.2°C in autumn.


The daily range of the air temperature


    The difference between the highest and the lowestair temperature in a whole day is defined as the daily range. In autumn andwinter, the daily range is larger than that in spring and summer. Over theyears, the average daily range of each season is 6.2°C in spring, 7.0°C insummer, 7.5°C in autumn and 7.0°C in winter. The highest daily range of the year exists in November,which reaches to 8.0°C, while the lowest is only 6.0°C in March and April.

        The regional distribution of extremelytemperature


The extremely maximum temperature is 38.7°C in south, 39.2°C in central region, and39.1°C innorth. The number of days with daily maximum temperature which is no less than 35°C is 21.5 days in north,21.2 days in central region, and 19.0 days in south averagely. The number ofdays with daily minimum temperature less than 5°C is 5.3 days in north,3.8 daysin central region and 3.1 days in south.

    If the winter is defined by the 5-day averagetemperature which is lower than 10°C, summeris higher than 22°C, and the spring and autumn is between 10°C and 22°C, thenthe spring and autumn are so short in Foshan while the summer is so long, andthere is no winter in terms of climate here.

    

        Rainfall

The average annual rainfall is 1681.2 mm inFoshan.

The rainfall begin to increase in April. Thefirst rainy season is from April to June, which is defined as the pre-rainyseason, and the low troughs with fronts are the main system to bring therainfall, the average precipitation amount is 718.3 mm, which is 43% of theannual rainfall. The second rainy season is from July to September, which isdefined as the after-rainy season. The main precipitation system is tropicalcyclones and tropical convergence zone. The average rainfall is 626.7 mm,accounting for 37% of the annual rainfall. The rainfall begin to decreasesharply in October.

The annual rainfall days is 146.4, and the northis more than the south region.

 

        Sunlight

The annual average sunshine duration of Foshan is 1,619.4 hours,and the duration of the south exceeds that of the north. The sunshine durationreached the highest in 1963 , with that of 2,433.5 hours, while the lowest sunshineduration appeared in 1997, which is only 1150.4 hours.

 

    Relativehumidity

The annual average relative humidity is 76%. The relativehumidity is low in winter, owing to the dry continental air mass while it reachedto the highest of the year in spring, because the south air becomes active and thewater vapor from sea is continuously delivered to Foshan. In summer, although thesouth moisture air is still active, containing abundant water vapor, itsrelative humidity is lower than that in spring due to the higher temperature. WhenFoshan was invaded by the north cold air in winter, the moisture in the airdecreases gradually, so does the relative humidity correspondingly.

 

    Tropicalcyclone

Tropical cyclone, originated in the tropical ocean, is arapidly rotating clockwise atmospheric vortex. It can be classified into severalcategories according to the air speed near the tropical cyclone center.The tropicalcyclone affecting Guangdong Province comes from the Western Pacific Ocean andthe South China Sea. The main period that tropical cyclone affects Guangdong isfrom June to October each year. In this period, the affecting times of tropicalcyclone accounts for more than 89% of the total of the whole year.
    According to the statistics, Foshan is affectedby tropical cyclone 1-2 times each year averagely, and the affected period ismainly between April to December. The earliest typhoon landed in Longlou,Wenchang, Hainan province on April 18, 2008, and relanded on 19, April inDongyang, Yangjiang, there was a gust wind leveled 8 to 9 in Foshan, which didn'tbrought too much disasters to Foshan . July is the month with the highest ratethat tropical cyclone affects Foshan, and followed by August. From July toSeptember, the times of being affected by tropical cyclone cover 75% of thetotal of the year.


?????

Copyright © 2002-2015 by Foshan Meteorological Service All Rights Reserved
Watch Foshan Bureau of Meteorology

自然地理


佛山是一座古老而又年轻的城市,位于广东省中南部、珠江三角洲腹地,东倚广州,西接肇庆,南连珠海,北通清远,毗邻港澳,地理位置十分优越。辖区内有西江、北江及其支流贯穿,境内地势平缓,多为冲积平原,河渠纵横,鱼塘密布,土地肥沃,自然资源主要有陶土、岩石、玻璃砂、稀有金属和塘鱼、水稻、甘蔗及品种繁多的水果、花卉等。


佛山市辖禅城区、南海区、顺德区、高明区、三水区5区,总面积为3797.72平方公里。2013年末全市常住人口729.57万人。


禅城区祖庙

佛山历史悠久,名胜古迹众多,是国家级历史文化名城。著名古迹有建筑雕塑艺术大观园之称的佛山祖庙、广东四大名园之一的梁园等。此外佛山秋色、佛山剪纸也别具南国特色。土特产有盲公饼、莲塘粉葛、河岩冬瓜等。


气候概况


佛山市属亚热带季风性湿润气候区,气候温和,雨量充足。年平均气温22.5℃,1月最冷,平均13.9℃,7月最热,平均29.2℃;年降雨量1681.2毫米(三水1688.7毫米,南海1677.4毫米,顺德1677.6毫米),西部和北部丘陵山地因地形抬升作用而稍多,年平均雨日 146.5天。雨季集中在4~9月,期间降雨量约占全年总降雨量的80%,夏季降水不均,旱涝无定,秋冬雨水明显减少。日照时数达1619.4小时,作物生长期长。


由于地处低纬,海洋和陆地天气系统均对佛山有明显影响,冬夏季风的交替是佛山季风气候突出的特征:冬春多偏北风,夏季多偏南风。冬季的偏北风因极地大陆气团向南伸展而形成的,干燥寒冷;夏季偏南风因热带海洋气团向北扩张所形成的,温暖潮湿。


冬季

佛山的冬季普遍盛行东北风和北风,来自北方既寒冷又干燥的气团,从源地长途跋涉,势力大大减弱;同时,随着地面气温逐渐升高,气团原来寒冷干燥的性质,逐渐改变为较冷湿润的性质,到达广东时气压差也降低,因此风速也由北向南逐渐减小。当我们置身于冬的怀抱,随风侵来的并不都是入骨的寒冷,也不是满目的萧条与凄清。但是,也有个别年份例外,在寒潮来临时,也可能出现霜冻天气。冬季是佛山的干季,降水较少,晴好天气多,光照充足。1月份为最冷月,月平均气温为13.9℃,极端最低气温曾达到-1.9℃,出现在1967年1月17日。


春季

顺德区陈村花卉世界

佛山的春季,气温和降水量均处在上升时期,是冷暖天气交替变化的季节,所以不稳定性很大。从历年的情况来看,佛山的春天常常是阴雨绵绵,寒风料峭,“连绵春雨湿红棉”,这个季节的雨水是“让人欢喜让人愁”,虽然能滋润万物、过滤空气,但也淹没了阳光的踪影,因此春季又是日照最少的季节。由于缺乏阳光,气温日变化小,总让人感到寒意丝丝透骨。当然,有的年份也会出现春光明媚的景象,而在某些年份则因为雨季来得迟,可能出现持续性的干旱。通常雨季从4月份开始,我市进入前汛期。

   



夏季

由于受海洋气团的影响,佛山的夏季盛吹偏南风,丰沛的水汽随南风源源不断输送到上空,为夏季降雨提供有利条件。5、6月份是佛山前汛期的降雨高峰期,各地出现暴雨的机会甚多。同时,每年的6~10月又是热带气旋影响广东的主要时段。据统计,平均每年有5~6个热带气旋影响广东,登陆广东的也有3~4个,占登陆我国热带气旋个数的4成。因此夏季是雷暴和热带气旋肆虐的季节,全年中50%~60%的雨水都下在这个时候,毫无羁绊的雨伴着狂虐的风,往往形成严重的灾害。然而夏季的雨又常常是人们翘首期盼的。佛山的夏季绵长,天气炎热,一年中最热的月份是7月,全市的月平均气温达到29.2℃。极端的最高气温曾出现过39.2℃(2005年7月18日,南海区)。盛夏季节气温高,加上相对湿度大,更显得暑气逼人。因此,在人们期盼至极时悄然到来的雨水,夹着凉风,淅淅沥沥带走暑热,滋润心田,无疑是上天最好的馈赠。

秋季

禅城区中山公园

告别炎夏,步入凉秋,天高云淡,好风长吟,秋天是一年中最舒适的季节。此时冷空气开始频繁南下,气温逐渐下降,飒飒秋风涤尽胸中的积郁,让人神清气爽。秋天并不是热带气旋活跃的季节,但仍有出现的可能,平均10年会有一个热带气旋登陆广东,随之而来的狂风骤雨自然是在所难免。总的来说,秋季多以晴天为主,少降水。据统计,从9月下旬至11月底平均降水量仅155.1毫米,约占全年降雨的十分之一,历史上还曾多次出现连续30天无雨的年份,秋燥的特点十分明显。

   



气温


    佛山年平均气温自北向南介于22.2℃~22.7℃,相差只有0.5℃,年平均气温最高出现在2003年,为23.5℃。



冬季是一年中最冷的季节,平均气温由北往南为14.4℃~15.2℃;春季,从3月份开始,气温回升到18.0℃;进入夏季,天气炎热,平均气温高达28.8℃,南、北地区的温差不明显;到了秋季,平均气温下降到24.2℃。

    气温的日较差

一日中,最高气温与最低气温的差称为气温的日较差。本市的气温日较差,秋、冬季大于春、夏季。历年各季节平均气温日较差为:春季6.2℃,夏季7.0℃,秋季7.5℃,冬季 7.0℃。11月是一年中气温日较差最大的月份,其平均差值为8.0℃,3、4月份是一年中气温日较差最小的月份,其平均差值为6.0℃。

    极端最高气温的地区分布

极端最高气温的地区分布为:南部38.7℃,中部39.2℃,北部39.1℃。日最高气温高于或等于35℃的天数为:北部平均21.5天,中部21.2天,南部19.0天。日最低气温低于或等于5℃的天数为:北部平均5.3天,中部3.8天,南部3.1天。


以候平均气温低于10℃为冬季、高于22℃为夏季,而介于10~22℃为春季和秋季的标准来划分季节,佛山春秋短促,夏季绵长,无气候意义上的冬季。



降水


年平均降水量为1681.2毫米。


    月降水量分布特征。从4月份开始,降水量明显增多。4~6月是第一个多雨季节,称前汛期,主要是锋面低槽带来的降水,降水量为718.3毫米,占全年降水量的43%。7~9月份为第二个多雨季节,称后汛期,主要是热带气旋、热带辐合带等带来的降水,降水量在626.7毫米,占全年降水量的37%。10月份开始,降水明显减少。



年平均降水日数为146.4天,北部比南部多。


日照


佛山市年平均日照时数1619.4小时,南多北少。1963年为历年日照时数最多的一年,其日照时数2433.5小时。最少的一年是1997年,为1150.4小时。


相对湿度


    佛山年平均相对湿度为76%。冬季,受干燥的大陆气团影响,相对湿度较小;春季,偏南气流开始活跃,来自海洋的水汽被源源不断输送到我市上空,因而相对湿度全年最大;夏季,南方潮湿气流依然活跃,空气中水汽丰沛,但由于气温高于春季,其相对湿度要比春季小;待到秋风起,北方冷空气不时侵扰,空气中的水汽含量越来越少,相对湿度随之逐渐减小。


热带气旋


    热带气旋是产生于热带海洋上,以逆时针方向急速旋转的大气涡旋。根据热带气旋中心附近的风速,可将热带气旋分为几个不同类别。

影响广东的热带气旋,产生于西太平洋和南海。每年的6~10月,是热带气旋影响广东的主要时段。在此期间,热带气旋的影响次数,占全年总影响次数的89%以上。


    据统计,佛山市受热带气旋影响年平均 1~2次。佛山市从4月到12月均会受热带气旋影响。初台最早一次是2008年4月18日,台风在海南省文昌市龙楼镇登陆,19日再次在阳江市阳东县登陆,佛山市出现阵风8~9级;最迟一次是1974年12月2日,台风在台山登陆,佛山市受其影响不大。7月是热带气旋影响率最高的一个月,其次是8月份,7~9月受热带气旋影响的次数占全年的75%。



Copyright © 2002-2015 by Foshan Meteorological Service All Rights Reserved

建议使用1280×1024分辨率

关注佛山气象局